Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (43)

Casino Royale review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:53 (A review of Casino Royale)

I loved the Sean Connery movies and since then the Bond films have seemed to have deteriorate. This film is definite proof that the Bond series is not lost. A different type of Bond, played by Daniel Craig, was what the franchise needed and the storyline was intriguing throughout the film. Even the one-liners and old Bond jokes which made the original films to entertaining and memorable are present in this film, much to my delight. You can't miss this film if you're a James Bond fan, and even if you're not, you'll still love it anyway.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:53 (A review of The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)

David Fincher has transformed a strange plotline of a man who ages backwards into an epic love story, and it is the most touching and beautiful film I've ever seen. You forget the fictional storyline because the direction and storytelling is so flawless. It is a very different look on life, as they say in the film, "Sometimes to understand life you have to look at it backwards". The acting is superb, the make-up and effects flawless and the length of the film goes unnoticed until you look at your watch when the film is over. An absolute masterpiece, and the best film of 2008.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Transformers review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:52 (A review of Transformers)

Spectacular visual effects is what springs this film far above the average action flick. A little more focus on the Transformers would have gone down well, but the storyline was nevertheless very entertaining and the fantastic musical score helped raise this film to a surprisingly high level.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Finding Nemo review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:52 (A review of Finding Nemo)

Firstly, I am a massive fan of animation. 'Finding Nemo' is beautifully made and animated, and features a funny and emotionally resolute script. It is possibly the best animated film ever made and can be watched over and over again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:51 (A review of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen)

Firstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I loved the first film, but this was very average and it seems a waste of such a huge budget.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ice Age: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:50 (A review of Ice Age: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs)

This film disappointed me. I'm a fan of animated films, but this provided few thrills and the storyline was very slow and pointless. Perhaps it was the little kids in the cinema who were constantly saying "That wasn't funny" and shutting down every single joke that made me realise that this film doesn't even work for young children and the humour was predictable and only rarely put a smile on my face. It had its moments, but overall I thought this was a bore.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Samson & Delilah review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:49 (A review of Samson & Delilah)

This is a very good film, but it runs very slowly and never seems to pick up the pace. You can't exactly call it a feel good film, nor call it the 'Best Australian Film of all time' as many call it, but it stills successfully gets the message across.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

District 9 review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:49 (A review of District 9)

District 9, a surprisingly emotional science fiction/thriller is one of the most unique and original films of the year. It starts off as a documentary, a very clever way to make the whole concept seem realistic. The concept is aliens arriving on earth and being kept in slums by the humans, and not being allowed to leave. Being produced by Peter Jackson, you would expect it to be a visual feast and it does not disappoint. The aliens, or 'prawns' as they are called, are incredibly realistic. It had a wonderful start and terrific ending, but faltered slightly in the middle when, in my opinion, all I wanted to see was how it turned out in the end. However, overall it is a fabulously unique film and deserves its Oscar nomination for 'Best Picture'.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inglourious Basterds review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:49 (A review of Inglourious Basterds)

Exceptionally gory, even for a Quentin Tarantino film, it is not for the faint hearted. 'Inglourious Basterds' is a feast of humour, suspense, and blood, and is thoroughly entertaining. The acting, especially from Christoph Waltz and Diane Kruger, is superb. The witty, clever dialogue, a trademark of Tarantino films, makes up a wonderful screenplay. You are almost kept on the edge of your seat throughout this film because it is so unpredictable, featuring numerous plot twists and unexpected outcomes. I must admit, I was expecting a little bit more than what I got because there is no denying, it is quite slow, but I was nonetheless impressed by the film overall.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Avatar review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 13 June 2012 11:48 (A review of Avatar)

Visually mindblowing and irresistibly exciting, James Cameron has created a masterpiece that is a revolution to the film industry. The story may not be new, but carries a strong moral message and has an emotional love story in the background. It must be seen in 3D for the visual splendour to be at its prime effectiveness. I sincerely hope that its sequels do not ruin such a fabulous movie, one which (despite 'The Hurt Locker's brilliance) should have won the Oscar for 'Best Picture'.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block